PowerShell: Get Network Adapters with WMI

I thought I had already blogged about this topic, but evidently not. I was in the middle of finishing another post with the intention of linking back to this one, when I realized it did not actually exist.

The script I’m about to explain actually exists in PowerShell now, but only if you are using Windows 8 or Server 2012. I don’t have that option most of the time professionally, so I can’t use Get-NetAdapter or Get-NetIpAddress. Too bad, it would solve all some one of my problems. I’d still have to splice those two commands together to get all the results I want. The work-around in older systems requires combining two wmi classes instead.

The snippet below will give you all the properties each wmi query can return. I need to match IP Addresses with the name of the adapter. NetworkAdapter can get me the IP, but NetworkAdapterConfiguration has the name. After reviewing the properties of each command, you might say, “but NetworkAdapter does have the name property!” Sure it does, but what it actually returns is more like the product model information. I want the personalized name of the adapter.


Get-WmiObject win32_NetworkAdapter | GM -Membertype Property

Get-WmiObject win32_NetworkAdapterConfiguration | GM -Membertype Property

The script I have to run is moderately complex. First I’ll get the Adapter information and assign it to a variable. I’m excluding blank Connection Ids and Local Area Connections. I don’t care about default stuff. If you do, just drop the WHERE clause. I then perform a ForEach loop to get the name of each adapter. The IpAddress is matched using the Filter parameter and passing in each adapter’s Deviceid, the unique adapter id that is available in both commands. Without that embedded second wmi query for the IP with the id filter, any data returned couldn’t be trusted.

The results are saved to a string variable which creates a custom table. This is necessary to get the data from two different queries in a single, readable result set.


$Adapters = Get-WmiObject win32_networkadapter | WHERE {$_.NetConnectionId -NOTLIKE '' -AND $_.NetConnectionId -NOTLIKE 'Local Area Connection*' }

$Info = ForEach ( $Adapter in $Adapters )
{
 $Results = '' | SELECT ComputerName,AdapterName,MacAddress,IpAddress
 $Results.ComputerName = ($Adapter.SystemName)
 $Results.AdapterName = $Adapter.NetConnectionId
 $Results.IpAddress = (Get-WmiObject win32_networkadapterconfiguration -Filter "Index = $($Adapter.DeviceId)").IpAddress
 $Results.MacAddress = $Adapter.MacAddress
 $Results
}
$Info | FT -auto

There are a lot of ways to display and format data with custom objects and tables, and I’ll discuss a few of those in my next post.

Leave a Reply

