PowerShell Solution to Java Version

I have to verify many patch statuses each month. A few days ago, I needed to get the current version of Java installed on all of my servers. Obviously I wasn’t going to log into every box, so I needed a remote method. Of course PowerShell could come to my rescue, but which method would be best?

After a little bit of research online, I discovered that there are numerous of ways to find the version of Java installed, but these are not all created equally, I’ve mentioned a few below, along with my final script at the bottom.

WMI Performing a WMI query was by far the worst method to get Java. I can’t actually tell you if it works, because the query did not complete. I even tried running it again the entire time I was writing this post. I didn’t get to the point of trying to filter or refine the result to fit my needs, let alone make it work remotely. Just pass over this code and continue to the useful ones below.

Get-WmiObject -Class Win32_Product | Where { $_.Name -like "Java" }

Registry Key Reading the registry though Get-ItemProperty is quick and easy if you want to pull the local server. It gets much tougher if you want to read remotely though. My remote registry read will work here as well, but the registry key was not showing the version level detail I needed. Java 1.8.0_xx isn’t enough, I need to know each computer has Java 8.0.xxx.xx installed; I need the build number.

Local Only Query

$Key ='HKLM:\Software\JavaSoft\Java Runtime Environment'
(Get-ItemProperty -Path $Key -Name Java7FamilyVersion).Java7FamilyVersion

Remote Query

$Computer = "$Env:ComputerName"
$Reg = [Microsoft.Win32.RegistryKey]::OpenRemoteBaseKey('LocalMachine',$Computer)
$RegKey= $Reg.OpenSubKey("Software\JavaSoft\Java Runtime Environment")
$RegKey.GetValue("Java7FamilyVersion")

Get-ChildItem The idea of this method seemed strange to me, but it actually worked the best, so it’s what I used for my final solution. In its purest form, you just get the details of the java executable and then display the version info.

(Get-ChildItem "C:\Program Files\Java\jre*\bin\java.exe").VersionInfo.ProductVersion

Below is my full version of the script, designed with remote querying in mind and error handling.

Final Solution

# Update $Computers to reflect your server list
$Computers = (Get-Content C:\Users\$Env:UserName\Desktop\AllServers.txt)
ForEach ( $Computer in $Computers )
{
$PingStatus = Gwmi Win32_PingStatus -Filter "Address = '$Computer'" | Select-Object StatusCode
IF ($PingStatus.StatusCode -eq 0)
{
IF (Test-Path ("\\$Computer\C$\Program Files\Java\jre*\bin\java.exe"))
{
$Java = gci "\\$Computer\C$\Program Files\Java\jre*\bin\java.exe"
$Java | Select @{n='Computer';e={$Computer}},@{n='JavaVersion';e={$java.VersionInfo.ProductVersion}}

}
ELSEIF (Test-Path ("\\$Computer\C$\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre*\bin\java.exe"))
{
$Java = gci "\\$Computer\C$\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre*\bin\java.exe"
$Java | Select @{n='Computer';e={$Computer}},@{n='JavaVersion';e={$java.VersionInfo.ProductVersion}}

}
ELSE
{
$Computer | Select @{n='Computer';e={$Computer}},@{n='JavaVersion';e={'-'}}
}
}#EndIf
ELSE
{
$Computer | Select @{n='Computer';e={$Computer}},@{n='JavaVersion';e={'ConnectFailed'}}
}
}#EndForEach

Most of the final script is just error handling. My first If statement tests if the server is pinging, then If statement nested within that tests for Java on a 64 or 32 bit system. This way, I know what version of Java is installed, if no Java is installed, or if the connection failed entirely.

Leave a Reply

