Windows Server 2012 Training

This week is exciting because instead of an average work week, I will be attending some free Windows Server 2012 training provided by my employer. I love free training; I wouldn’t care if it was in fletching or how to make home-made soap (actually those sound neat). Something actually related to my career though? That’s awesome training! I’ve never used Server 2012 outside of a lab environment, and even then I’ve only touched it a few times in Virtual Machines since no one seems fast to move to it around here. I’m looking forward to checking it out seriously and uncovering all its mysteries.

I think that I have a slight advantage over some of the people who will be in the training, because I actually have Windows 8 on all my home computers. Obviously a lot of people have been slow to adopt the unfamiliar operating system and Server 2012 follows the same style as Windows 8. I’m one of the many with hopes for Windows 10 improvements (obviously so amazing it required a whole number skipped) but I also have realistic expectations of mediocrity for that.

Although, on second thought about my advantage, I also modified Windows 8 to avoid the Metro/Start screen and always boot to desktop. I then installed Classic Shell to get the start menu back. Maybe I’m not so savvy with the new OS after all. I did try to use Windows 8 without any modifications for a few months, hoping that 8.1 would have enough corrections to keep me happy. I caved after too many minutes spent in frustration trying to track down various programs and administrative settings. The second time I had to resort to the Run command to adjust a setting, I was done.

I know Server 2012 improved clustering considerably, and that’s what I’m hoping to demo the most while in the training class. I’ve been using Availability Clusters with Server 2008 and I know that’s probably causing issues that could be fixed with an upgrade. I can only hope that this ~30 hour class will cover clustering in detail.

On the other hand, I’m most concerned that the title of the training is “Capabilities, Administration and Support.” Learning how to troubleshoot the OS is great, but I don’t want to be stuck learning how to provide support for it to others. Since I don’t really know what I’m getting into today, I’m more than a little afraid too much time will be spent on that.

I plan to take extensive notes on the training so that I can report the highlights and disappointments, which I will then report next week.

Leave a Reply

